Monday, July 16, 2018

The Derby

This year's Home Run Derby definitely feels a lot different than last year's. It seems that the HR Derby is starting to go the way of the NBA Slam Dunk Contest, where the big-ticket players will choose not to participate.

I see both sides of it, and I'm not disappointed that no Yankees are in it tonight. Being 29 games over .500 at the break is more important, and whatever players can do to gain a little more rest at this point is totally cool with me.

Still, it's fun to look back at the four Yankees who won the derby, especially in 1997 when Tino Martinez won it. That's still a highlight of my childhood fandom.

1997 - Tino Martinez at Jacobs Field in Cleveland
2002 - Jason Giambi at Miller Park in Milwaukee
2011 - Robinson Cano at Chase Field in Arizona
2017 - Aaron Judge at Marlins Park in Miami
If I had to guess, I'd say Bryce Harper puts on a show for the home crowd and takes home the win tonight.